Skip to main content

Awards and Recognition

  • 2023 Safe Kids Champion for Children Award
  • 2021 “Outstanding Safety Efforts” award, Charlie’s House, Kansas City, MO, April 2021
  • Outstanding Coalition Organization Award, Safe Kids Kansas, Topeka, KS, December 2018
  • Green Cross for Safety Advocate Award Finalist, National Safety Council, Chicago, IL, May 2016
  • Esther Peterson Consumer Service Award, Consumer Federation of America, Washington, DC June 2015
  • Outstanding Coalition Organization Award, Safe Kids Kansas, Topeka, KS, December 2012
  • Department of Transportation Safety Champion Award – “In recognition of your (Janette Fennell) dedication and hard work to raise awareness of the dangers to children in and around vehicles.  Your ongoing crusade for safety has helped to save lives and prevent tragedies.” – David Strickland, Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Phoenix, AZ, March 2011
  • Buck O’Neal Legacy Seat 2010 Honoree, Kansas City Royals, Kansas City, MO, August 2010
  • Community Champion Award, Civil Justice Foundation, Chicago, IL, July 2007
  • Advocate Extraordinaire Award, Safe Kids, Metro Kansas City, Kansas City, MO, January 2007
  • State of Kansas Outstanding Achievement in Childhood Safety Award, Safe Kids, Topeka, KS, December 2006
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Wisconsin, October 2004
  • 2002 Public Service Award Recipient, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Lifesavers Conference, Lake Buena Vista, FL, June 2002
  •  2001 Humanitarian of the Year Award, The Danny Foundation, Alamo, CA, October 2001
  • Annual Injury Prevention Award, American Academy of Pediatrics, California District, Orange County, CA, September 2001
  • Award of Achievement, The Gleitsman Foundation, Encino, CA, December 2000
  • “Heroes for Today,” Reader’s Digest, October 1999
  • 1999 Community Champion Award, Civil Justice Foundation, July 1999
  • 25th Anniversary Outstanding Alumni Award, College of Business Administration, University of Wisconsin, 1991
  • Outstanding Young Alumni Award, Alumni Association, University of Wisconsin, 1987


Scroll to top of page